About Us

Baylands Family Credit Union was chartered on January 22, 1946 and remains committed to providing outstanding service to our members. The Credit Union was formed by a group of nine dedicated employees of what was then known as Chesapeake Corporation of Virginia in West Point, Virginia.  The intent of our founders was to promote thrift among its members and to make loans to its members for provident purposes.

The Credit Union’s first location was on the grounds of the West Point Paper Mill, currently owned by WestRock Company.  In 1985 we opened our corporate office located at 2004 Main Street, West Point and expanded the facility in 1995.  We extended operations in 2006 opening the Norge Branch in James City County, and again in 2016 opening the New Kent Loan & Mortgage Center in Quinton, Virginia.

Individuals who live, work, worship, or attend school in any of the following (8) counties are eligible for membership:  James City, New Kent, King William, King & Queen, Middlesex, Essex, Gloucester and Mathews.  Additionally, immediate family members of existing members also qualify.

Whether you stay local or relocate, Baylands Family Credit Union is here for you. “Once a member, always a member.”

The Credit Union offers a variety of products and services designed to assist your financial needs.  We strive to add value to our member’s lives by providing them with fast, easy and convenient service.   The Credit Union Philosophy of “People Helping People” is and always will be our main priority.

Mission Statement

Baylands Family Credit Union is committed to serving the financial needs of our membership.  It is our responsibility to maximize the benefits to our members while maintaining financial stability.

We will provide a climate in which our employees are stimulated to achieve outstanding performance and professionalism.

We are a member-owned institution that exists “Not for Profit, but for Service.”

Vision Statement

We believe in helping families live better lives.

Board of Directors

John S. Heslink, Chair
George R. Carter, Vice-Chair
Carolyn B. Lockley, Secretary
Deborah T. Ball, Asst. Secretary
Martha E. Hart
Troy E. Foster
Todd C. Welch
Terry A. Reed

Supervisory Committee

Rebecca Rubino, Chair
David Dupuis
Michael Bellanca

Supervisory Committee Mailing Address:
P O Box 1600
West Point VA 23181